Get a Free Quote - 866-622-8153

Human Rights
Laws in Canada

Human Rights Laws in Canada

Canada has 14 distinct legal jurisdictions that govern employment relationships, including management of human rights. Depending on the nature of the business you are in, the requirements as an employer may either be governed by federal or provincial/territorial human rights codes. Human rights laws identify employee rights and employer obligations throughout the employee lifecycle from recruitment to retirement and help you to build a diverse workforce in Canada.

Federal

In Canada, about 6% of employers are federally regulated and these businesses include international and interprovincial businesses such as trucking and shipping, banks, telecommunications and more. The laws relating to human rights apply to these federal businesses even if they are scattered throughout each province or territory in Canada.

Provincial

The human rights laws in each province and territory within Canada generally state that every person has a right to equal treatment with respect to employment without discrimination or harassment because of various prohibited grounds, such as race, age or family status. The right to “equal treatment with respect to employment” covers every aspect of the workplace environment and employment relationship throughout the employee life cycle such as recruitment, training, promotions, rates pay, performance through to termination.

For more details regarding federal or provincial legislation please visit – following links

Human Rights Commission
Human Rights Act
Canadian Human Rights Tribunal
Employment Equity Act

Check out our email subscriptions and sign up for one or more and get the latest news, updates, event and promo information
Be in the know - Click here

Obtenez une
soumission gratuite
866 622-8153

Législation
sur les droits
de la personne

Législation sur les droits de la personne

Le Canada comporte 14 juridictions de droit distinctes qui régissent les relations d’emploi, y compris la gestion des droits de la personne. Selon la nature de votre domaine d’activité, les exigences en tant qu’employeur peuvent être régies par un code des droits de la personne soit provincial ou fédéral. La législation sur les droits de la personne détermine les droits de l’employé et les obligations de l’employeur tout au long du cycle de vie de l’employé, du recrutement à la retraite, et vous aide à bâtir une main-d’œuvre diversifiée au Canada.

Fédéral

Au Canada, environ 6 % des employeurs sont régis par un code fédéral, et ces entreprises comprennent des sociétés internationales et interprovinciales, notamment des entreprises de camionnage et d’expédition, des banques, des sociétés de télécommunications et plus encore. La législation relative aux droits de la personne s’applique à ces entreprises de ressort fédéral même si elles sont dispersées dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires du Canada.

Provincial

La législation sur les droits de la personne de chaque province et territoire du Canada stipule généralement que toute personne a droit à un traitement équitable en matière d’emploi, sans discrimination ou harcèlement en raison de divers motifs illicites de discrimination, comme la race, l’âge ou la situation de famille. Le droit à un « traitement équitable en matière d’emploi » couvre tous les aspects d’un environnement de travail et d’une relation d’emploi tout au long du cycle de vie de l’employé, notamment le recrutement, la formation, les promotions, le taux salarial, le rendement et la cessation d’emploi.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la législation fédérale ou provinciale, veuillez consulter les liens suivants.

Commission des droits de la personne
Loi sur les droits de la personne
Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne
Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi

Jetez un œil à nos listes d’envoi et inscrivez-vous à l’une ou plusieurs d’entre elles pour être tenu au courant des plus récentes nouvelles, mises à jour et promotions et des plus récents événements.
Soyez informé - Cliquez ici